June 2009 Mix CD

So it’s a little late, but I swear I wrote the tracklist and burned it in June…

  1. Los Campesinos! – Death to Los Campesinos! >> Peppy boy/girl vocals with baroquely poppy bells and drums. Fun times.
  2. Matt and Kim – Daylight >> Turned onto this track by a post on Keith Law’s blog.  The clicking drums, affected vocals, and growling synths are the perfect ingredients for lo-fi electropop hit.  See MGMT – Time to Pretend.
  3. The Ting Tings – Shut Up and Let Me Go >> This song has slowly grown on me.  Whereas “Great DJ” happened for me almost immediately, it look me a few listens to warm up to the neo-disco guitars and synths.  The vocals definitely have that repetitive, chanty quality that I can hook into.
  4. Asobi Seksu – Mizu Asobi >> Every time I listen to their album Citrus, I seem to find a new great song.  Hush is probably a bit too dream-pop, not enough shoegaze.
  5. Ida Maria – I Like You So Much Better When You’re Naked
  6. Green Day – Know Your Enemy >> I’m not really a punk fan (perhaps that’s evident by including a Green Day track on this mix?  I don’t know).  Despite the oversaturation of their recent album, “Know Your Enemy” is quality pop-punk.  I even like the extremely simple guitar solo bit in the middle.
  7. The Presets – My People >>   “My People” throbs, dominates, and devastates.  With that kind of energy though, it probably overstays its welcome at 4.5 minutes.  I definitely regret missing these guys live in March.
  8. The Smashing Pumpkins – G.L.O.W. >> I probably regret putting this song on here already.  It’s not particularly remarkable and definitely not a lyrical masterpiece.  Also, what’s with the abbreviated song names, Billy?  Who are you, W.A.S.P.?
  9. The Bug feat. Flowdan – Jah War (Loefah Mix) >> Ok, yeah, I have no idea what this is about, but Flowdan has a great voice and Loefah creates a grinding bassline that surpasses Kevin Martin’s original mix.
  10. Gnarls Barkley – Surprise
  11. Beastie Boys – Pass the Mic >> Why do rappers like to rap about their own names so much?  Anyway, the rhyming of “commercial” with “commercial” freaks me out every time.
  12. Beck – Que Ondo Guero >> The car horn-like synths and scattered vocal clips make me think of an LA traffic jam.  Beck can really sound like anything, but I think a lot of it is due to which producer(s) he employs for a given album.  For example, Guero with the Dust Brothers or Modern Guilt with Danger Mouse.
  13. Asobi Seksu – Strings
  14. Ben Folds – Jesusland
  15. Fleet Foxes – White Winter Hymnal >> It’s still nowhere near as good as “Blue Ridge Mountains”.
  16. Editors – When Anger Shows >> Just an epic song by Editors.  Most of their work stays in the 3.5-4.5 minute range, but this one is almost six minutes.  It’s almost like two separate songs, which works well due to Editors’ big melodies and repetitive lyrics.
  17. Silversun Pickups – Lazy Eye >> I see a lot of comparisons to The Smashing Pumpkins with Silversun Pickups (I assume to Gish/Siamese Dream era work; specifically, “Lazy Eye” sounds most like “1979” and “Drown”).  I’d also throw Pavement and The Breeders out there as comparables.
  18. Papercuts – Future Primitive >> “Future Primitive” brings to mind a modern black and white Western film with its distant backup vocals, clompy rhythms, and OK Corral guitar.
  19. Badly Drawn Boy – The Shining >> What a delicate and bold work.  Each instrument and note is vivid and necessary.  The warm brass shines and interplays with the strings and guitar beautifully.  I don’t think I could recommend this enough.
  20. Passion Pit – Moth’s Wings >> It was entirely intentional, but the acoustic guitar of “The Shining” transitions into the synthetic plucking of “Moth’s Wings”.  Passion Pit is quickly becoming one of my favorite artists.

Arbitrary song of the day: Das Racist & Wallpaper. – Combination Pizza Hut and Taco Bell (Wallpaper. Remix) – What an insane song, but the remix is slick and energetic.  You owe it to yourself to listen to it once.

Leave a Reply

