February 2009 Mix CD

Hey, maybe I’ll try to do one of these a month.  Every time I burn a mix CD, I feel like there’s no chance I’ll be able to find enough new (new for me at least) music I like for the next one.  So far though, this hasn’t happened.  I’d say about half of these tracks I hadn’t heard before a month ago.  Anyways, here’s the track listing:

  1. Mindless Self Indulgence – Stupid MF
  2. Electric Six – Improper Dancing (“STOP… CONTINUE!”  How can you not love that?)
  3. VHS or Beta – Night on Fire
  4. Klaxons – Atlantis to Interzone (a very strong A-B-A-B structure; the two sections have dramatically different tempos)
  5. Beck – Soul of a Man (probably my favorite track off of last year’s Modern Guilt)
  6. The Bug – Skeng (I’m not really a dubstep fan, but I really like the deep vocals on this one despite that I can’t understand them.  Anyway, I think hip hop is where dubstep should be – without vocals, it’s unremarkable at best.)
  7. Björk – Declare Independence (There are some insane noises on this one which don’t really make any sense on their own.  But once the kick comes in, you’ll see that this one is a stomper.)
  8. High Places – Head Spins (Extended Mix) (if this is the “extended mix” at 2:21 – how long is the original?  also recommend is the Allez-Allez Remix)
  9. Air France – Collapsing at Your Doorstep (it’s the big reverbed snare hits that make this tune for me)
  10. Kraftwerk – The Model
  11. Bloc Party – Signs (tinkly synths that I love – is Bloc Party better now without the guitars?  There weren’t really any tracks on Intimacy that I disliked)
  12. David Bowie – All the Madmen (I actually downloaded this accidentally while trying to get the song “The Who Sold the World”, but I like this song much better – I mean, panflutes?  You are the man, Bowie)
  13. Asobi Seksu – Nefi+Girly (I really wish I could understand vocalist Yuki Chikudate in the English songs, but the big shoegazing riffs coupled with her high, breezy voice makes it too difficult for me)
  14. Klaxons – Golden Skans
  15. Fujiya & Miyagi – Knickerbocker
  16. Supergrass – Pumping on Your Stereo (this track took me forever to remember what it was – I remembered the awesome muppet-y video that I saw on 120 Minutes, but couldn’t remember the band  – I thought it was by Super Furry Animals)
  17. The (International) Noise Conspiracy – The Reproduction of Death
  18. Asobi Seksu – Strawberries
  19. The Cranberries – Dreams
  20. Interpol – Leif Erikson (Dear Interpol, Please make another Turn on the Bright Lights.  Sincerely, The World)
  21. The National – Green Gloves (I like to end with a solemn/sad sort of song, and this is really the only one that fits the bill on this mix)

Arbitrary song of the day: Run-D.M.C. – It’s Like That (Jason Nevins Mix)

Leave a Reply

